There is no bad weather here, and the residents are friendly and polite. The low crime rate makes Trinidad and Tobago an attractive place for a beach, sightseeing, family or outdoor activity.
Why go to Trinidad and Tobago
The state, discovered in the 15th century by Christopher Columbus, for a long time was a colony of Spain, and later Great Britain. The islands gained independence in the middle of the last century. Therefore, there are so many architectural monuments of the colonial period in Trinidad and Tobago. History buffs visit Catholic cathedrals, masterpieces of medieval construction, museums and galleries.
At the service of those wishing to soak up the beach — the coast of the Caribbean islands. Active guests are offered equipment for snorkeling, surfing and diving. Yachting and fishing are also included in the list of services for tourists. Travelers with children are welcome on the islands — there are zoos, national reserves and many other entertainments for little travelers.
So the locals call the seat of the Parliament of the Republic, located in the capital of Port of Spain next to Woodforth Park. The building was built in 1844 in the Greek Renaissance style and is recognized as an architectural monument.
In 1897, in honor of the celebration of the anniversary of Queen Victoria, the facade of the building was painted red. Since 1903, the Red House has been repeatedly restored after a series of destructions.
Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception
The first Catholic church in Port of Spain was built in 1781 by Spanish Governor Martin de Salverria on what is now known as Tamarind Square. The English Governor Sir Ralph Woodford decided to build a church more suitable for the growing and predominantly Catholic population. The plans were drawn up by the governor’s secretary and the first stone was laid on March 24, 1816. The new cathedral is located to the west of the existing church on Independence Square.
The building is laid out in the form of a Latin cross and built from blue ore brought from the quarries of Laventil. English iron was used for windows and doors. The construction was completed in 1832, but the cathedral was consecrated only 17 years later — after the payment of all debts.
This castle is located in the capital of Trinidad — the city of Port of Spain, designed and built in the early twentieth century by Scottish architect Robert Gillis. The author conceived the object similar to the Scottish castle Balmoral.
The family of Charles Fourier originally lived in Stollmeyer, and after the death of the head of the family, the house went to his son John, who owned the building with his family until 1979. Today Stollmeyer belongs to the state, which once bought the rights to it.
Cathedral of the Holy Trinity
The cathedral is located on the island of Trinidad. Another name for the building is the First English Church. The temple was built in the XVIII century. Then on this place stood a small wooden church, burned down in a fire. The authorities allocated funds for the construction of a new cathedral, which was completed only 9 years after the laying of the first stone.
The architecture of the Cathedral of the Holy Trinity is mixed — there are elements of the Gregorian, Gothic and Victorian styles. Philip Reinagle worked on the layout. The designer came up with a cantilevered wooden beam roof, which became a distinctive feature of the cathedral.
Built in 1903 by the fifth Archbishop of Port of Spain, Patrick Vincent Flood. The design of the building was designed by an Irish architect, but he chose Indian style for decoration. In 1968-1969, the first floor of the palace was completely reconstructed, the office was moved to the west of the main building, and the summer house and stables were demolished.
The ground floor of the house, the sacristy, the chapel and the room in the southwest corner of the house have retained their original state. Upon completion of the work, Monsignor Anthony Pantin, the first archbishop of Trinidadian origin, settled in the house.
Cultural attractions and museums
Central Bank Money Museum
The museum was founded in 2004, on the occasion of the 40th anniversary of the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago.
The exhibits are divided into three thematic categories:
- World payment means;
- Island money;
- History of the Central Bank.
In the old days, the state paid with beautiful shells, Katanga crosses and even gold bars. After the strengthening of Great Britain in the Caribbean, British pounds sterling came into circulation. Today the museum is loved by tourists and locals for informative excursions and stories about the past of the islands.
National Museum and Art Gallery
The museum is located on Frederick Street across from Memorial Park. The gallery was built in 1892 and was called at that time the Royal Institute of Queen Victoria.
Today, the museum holds more than 10,000 exhibits, despite the fact that at the beginning of the 20th century, an impressive part of the collection died in a severe fire. Some of the lost items were restored three years later.
National Academy of Theater Arts
The academy has been open to the public since 2009. The building is designed in the traditions of modern design ideas. Trinidadians are very proud of the unusual architecture of the academy. Outwardly, the structure resembles chaconia, the national flower of the country.
On an area of 40,000 square meters, lecture halls and theater stages were placed to hone the practical skills of students. On the upper floors are hotel rooms where touring artists stay. Around the building there is a park area with cozy benches and fountains.
Entertainment complex MovieTowne
The complex is considered the best in the region. Here, for the first time in the world, a cinema with ten screens was opened. In addition to watching movies, vacationers go shopping, visit cafes and restaurants, and relax in slot machine halls.
Play areas and children’s rooms are designed for children, parents use the services of a nanny. The cinema itself meets all modern requirements: it is equipped with high-tech screens and comfortable chairs with armrests.
Nature and entertainment
Empire Valley Zoo
Located within Queen Savannah Park in Port of Spain. The zoo opened its doors to tourists in 1947. Here are collected representatives of the fauna living in the Caribbean region. When creating the zoo project, the creators took into account the natural terrain — paths, buildings and buildings are a single composition that harmoniously coexists with trees and hills.
Animals feel here, as in their natural habitat — calm and relaxed. Empire Valley is home to yellow and blue macaws, brown pelicans, iguanas, and predatory cats. A local veteran, the Crosai crocodile, has been living at the zoo for over 30 years.
The long beach is located in the northeast of the island of Tobago in a secluded bay. Despite the fact that the rest here is extremely comfortable — big waves rarely appear on the sea, and the coast is covered with lush vegetation — there are few people. Englishman’s Bay is a truly secluded place for those looking for a relaxing getaway.
Mud Volcano Wood Devil’s Yard
Devil’s Wood Yard is Trinidad’s most popular mud volcano. The Indians considered the sounds with which he pushes out the dirt to be the mutterings of Satan — hence his name. Some Aboriginal tribes still consider this place holy and come here to pray.
The occurrence of such an unusual natural phenomenon is explained by deposits of methane under a layer of soil and clay. Gas rushes out as soon as a crack appears in the ground, dragging clay and silt to the surface. The mud dries up, forming a cone — a mud hill. When several such eruptions occur, the cone grows and becomes like a volcano. The last major eruption of Devil’s Wood Yard was recorded in 1852. The rest of the time it bubbles quietly, without being dangerous.
Royal Botanic Garden
The collection of plants in the royal garden began to be created in 1818, and since that time the territory of the park has only expanded. Now its area has reached 25 hectares. One day is not enough for tourists to walk around the Botanical Garden, but the most annoying thing is that the park is only open for visitors for 10 hours.
On the territory of the garden there is an old cemetery, which was founded at the beginning of the 19th century. Some monuments and tombstones have been preserved in their original form.
One of the squares of the city, located in the central part, was created in memory of those who died in the First World War. The opening and consecration of the memorial took place at the end of June 1924. After 20 years, local authorities officially opened the park to the public and re-consecrated it.
In the center of the complex is a 13-meter stele made of Portland stone, which is crowned with a carved frieze with lion heads on top. On the pedestal of the column are human sculptures depicting the desire to live and protect the homeland. Nearby are bronze tablets on which the names of the dead are carved. Flower laying ceremonies are held annually on November 11 in the park.
Queen Savannah Park
The vast park area in Trinidad with an area of more than a square kilometer is the oldest in the Caribbean. Initially, the Peschier family lived on the territory, and at the beginning of the 19th century, the state bought the square from the owners.
The park was not formed here immediately — at first the government used the land for grazing. Only in the 1990s, entertainment events and horse races began to be organized on its territory. Since then, the spectator stand has been preserved. Now the famous carnivals take place in Queen Savannah Park.